Allied occupation and "International Patrol":

In the " Control Agreement for Austria" signed on 4 July 1945 and in the "Agreement on Zones of Occupation in Austria and the administration of the City of Vienna" signed on 9 July 1945, the zones of occupation in Austria and the allied administration of the city of Vienna had been decided.

The "Allied Council", which consisted of the commanders-in-chief of the four allied occupying powers, held ultimate authority in Austria.
Vienna was divided into an US-American, a British, a French and a Soviet sector, based on the city’s borders in 1937.

The first district, also called the "inner city", was placed under quadripartite control, with the chairmanship changing every month ("Four Power Control").
The fundamental idea behind Four Power Control was the thought that all the most important governmental authorities and administrative bodies were located in the inner city. If that district had been controlled by one of the allied powers only, that particular force could have exerted pressure on the Austrian public authorities and government.

The "International Patrol", consisting of one military police officer of each allied force, took up its duties on 5 August 1945 and consisted of 3 soldiers at first. On 27 September 1945 the Frenchman joined as the fourth man (Four in a Jeep).

The Jeep was in use until October 1946. As it soon became obvious that the vehicle was not really suitable for its intended purpose because of the limited space available, a considerably larger and more comfortable Dodge WC 56/57 Command Car followed until the beginning of the 1950's and from then until the withdrawal of the allied troops from Austria, a Chevrolet 51 Sedan was used.

Considering that the vehicles were generally provided by the US-Army, the drivers were mainly Americans, too.
When the Soviet Union had the chairmanship, they temporarily allocated vehicles of the Pobeda GAZ M-20 type.

The "International Patrol" was responsible for the entire municipal area of Vienna (four zones and the International Zone) and had to ensure public order and security for the civil population, as well as all allied troops.
In addition every occupying power had its own “Military Police” which was in charge of the maintenance of order and discipline among the civil population and their own soldiers within their respective zone.

On 27 July 1955 the Austrian State Treaty (State Treaty for the re-establishment of an independent and democratic Austria, signed on 15 May 1955) entered into force, after it had been ratified by all five states - Austria, the USA, the Soviet Union, Great Britain and France.
On the same day, the Allied-Council passed a decision on it own dissolution, which ended the quadripartite control of Austria. The occupying troops had to leave Austria within 90 days.

A joint allied military parade of the four occupying powers was held on Schwarzenberg Square (at that time called Stalin Square), and during a rendition of the national anthem the flags of the four allied powers were taken down. The Americans came up with a special idea. While the other units paraded to the sound of their own marches, the American band played the "Radetzkymarsch". Their extra applause from the audience was assured.

The International Patrol ceased to exist on 14 September 1955.

Historical tone and image documents:

Follow the Link!